What is Zakah (Zakat)?

Zakat is the third pillar of Islam and is a form of worship that involves wealth. However, it is obligatory upon Muslims to pay a portion of their earnings once in a lunar (Hijra) year to the poor and the needy when their earnings reach a prescribed amount (called “Nisab” ) above their needs. Commanded to the Muslims in the second year of Hijra Allah (SWT) says in the Holy Qur’an: 

And establish regular Prayer and give Zakah, and bow down your heads with those who bow down (in prayer).” (2:43)

 There are eight categories of people (asnaf) who qualify to benefit from zakat funds and Allah has explained clearly this in the Holy Quran. He states that this is a duty imposed by Allah and that it is based on knowledge and wisdom. Allah, may He be exalted, says (interpretation of the meaning):

Allah says (interpretation of the meaning): As-Sadaqaat (here it means Zakaah) are only for the Fuqaraa’ (poor), and Al‑Masaakeen (the poor) and those employed to collect (the funds); and to attract the hearts of those who have been inclined (towards Islam); and to free the captives; and for those in debt; and for Allaah’s Cause, and for the wayfarer (a traveller who is cut off from everything); a duty imposed by Allaah. And Allaah is All-Knower, All-Wise.

Qur’an 9:60

These eight are the categories who are entitled to zakaah and to whom it must be paid.

  1. Fuqaraa’ (poor)
  2. Al‑Masaakeen (poor people)
  3. Those utilized to gather the zakaah reserves
  4. To draw in the hearts of the individuals who have been inclinec towards Islam
  5. To free the prisoners
  6. To those paying off debtors
  7. For Allah’s Cause
  8. For the voyager (an explorer who is cut off from everything);

The first and second are the fuqara’ and masaakeen (poor people and penniless). They ought to be offered zakaah to address their needs. The difference between the fuqara’ and masaakeen is that the fuqara’ are in more noteworthy need; they do not have resources to sustain themselves and their families for a large portion of a year. The masaakeen are in a comparatively better situation than the fuqara’, in light of the fact that they have half of what they need. These individuals ought to be given Zakaah in light of their need.

Zakaah applies to explicit resources, which are:

  1. Gold
  2. Silver
  3. Yields
  4. Organic products
  5. Exchange products
  6. An’aam animals (i.e., camels, dairy cattle and sheep)

Zakaah is obligatory upon the conditions that one full Hijri (lunar) year have passed since securing the abundance, and that the abundance meet the base edge (nisaab), and it’s anything but a particular segment of riches.

Pay your Zakat for the goodwill of humanity and we are providing your this platform to fulfill this obligation. We spend this amount in welfare projects for the Al-Fuqaraa and Al-Masaakeen. Be a ray of hope for these people and cooperate with us to fulfill the basic needs of these deserving people.

Be the first to comment

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published.